Class Relax

refocus, renew and get ready to learn

Post-war energy transformation

Leave a comment

It’s been a few weeks after our intense 3-day “Black Belt” Operation.
The first week offered up a huge challenge to come back to mindfulness.

From being inundated with 90 rockets in our small immediate area, we were suddenly expected to be calm and ready to resume a more usual sense of  constant alert. How might the 12 year olds react to being invited to lie still and scan their bodies in a state of rest? That first week I discovered that it was to be almost impossible.

The normally pleasant suggestion was acceptable intellectually. The kids agreed to get comfortable and agreed to having lights out, but allowing themselves to be still was a completely separate set of commands that they found beyond their abilities. Any bustle, rustle or hiccup set off nervous energy. The line between one person’s space and another’s was blurred into nonexistence.

Over the week, each class had reacted a little differently, depending on the children present in the room, the time of day and the degree of dissonance or frustration experienced till that point.  I found sessions welcomed as a break from normal school, but that the “welcome” manifested either as a wish to nap or as a giggling roller coaster ride.

I used bean bags to offer outlets for energy – whether as tactile aids for breathing meditation or as tools for creating exercises for mimicking.

WhatsApp Image 2019-11-30 at 11.17.06.jpeg

In general, my task was to hold some form of structure to offer a safe framework for energies that needed to be expressed.

The second week after the war was a little different. The first classes were quite hyperactive – engaging in jokes that placed me in a position of needing to step aside. I suddenly experienced my own PTSD in the form of a stone within my chest. I felt a contraction and needed to step aside mentally in order to observe myself.

I sat there silently for 10 minutes, while the pupils slowly noticed and tried to hush themselves into readiness to learn.

Eventually I asked in teacher-like fashion if they valued the lessons. They said yes, so I asked why.

One girl spoke of how they helped her learn how to relax, how to calm herself. Another said they helped her be quiet inside when things were hard in her environment.

More of the same and I knew that they knew the right answers. Therefore, with a little lighter feeling, I guided them through the qigong exercise called “Shake the tree” in which limbs are shook, chest and back shake, head shakes and then slowly we come back to standing still to notice our sensations. We took 3 breaths, ending with a serious self-hug and a verbal reassurance “There’s nobody like me”.  Slow disengagement from the hug and then we bid ourselves goodbye.

To end with self-love is to end well. I felt better. They felt better as life, whatever that may be, invited them to collect their backpacks, put on their shoes and exit from our room.

May we be safe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.