Class Relax

refocus, renew and get ready to learn

Semester 2 – 8th graders

Leave a comment

side by side

This week, I met my new group of 8th graders who signed up to learn Mindfulness. I was warned by two homeroom teachers that I’d be receiving more pupils than the maximum number. Sure enough, 22 pupils arrived. 22!

Our Relaxation Room is new and lovely but with limited space. Side by side by side, pupils willingly adapted themselves to the available cushions.

Shoulder to shoulder, they listened to the basic 4 rules, then silently received the sound of the Singing Bowl. They took turns to share their present moment feelings and then found room to draw their hands and write their expectations of the upcoming lessons onto their page.

Then the wall-to-wall group reclined or sat as I led them through a body scan and a gentle release of tensions.

Twenty-two pupils.
After having a weekend to reflect, I believe that their homeroom teachers warned them that one wrong move and one word from me and they’d be out. That must’ve been the case, because, well as I mentioned, 22! (in a space that’s built for 15)

We transitioned back to the room, shook out our bodies in qigong style and said Shalom.

Afterwards, one homeroom teacher asked me how it went. “22 sardines,” I said, “relaxed for guided imagery. I was delighted!”

4c968d311356bebc3c2ba164da508310

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.